A Life Poetic

My brain assumes everything is a spider until clearly proven otherwise. And even then, it maintains a level of suspicion. 

randaroyce:

top gear tho

bogleech:

eeriie:

Mickey Mouse gas mask for children during WW2.

http://slimebeast.com/forum/slimy-stories/room-zero/

I love the way you used statistics and not just spewing vague terms to prove your point about Stand Your Ground laws, but with no disrespect, I as an American citizen feel safe knowing if an intruder were to enter my home I am justified to use force, possibly deadly, to protect my family. I am in no way justifying attacking unarmed people because they look threatening, I am instead justifying my right to protect myself from people explicitly threatening me safety in my home.
Anonymous

fishingboatproceeds:

I understand your feeling, and the feeling is real and important, but our gut feelings are often incorrect.

Like, to give you an analogous example: I feel like I am going to die every time I get onto an airplane, but this gut feeling I have is wrong. Maybe I will someday die on an airplane, but if I need to go to Los Angeles for some reason, I am statistically far safer flying than I would be driving, so if one of my big goals is not wanting to die (and it is!) then I should fly, even though I feel less safe than I would if I were driving.

Similarly, you are much more likely to be murdered if you have a gun in your home than if you don’t have a gun in your home. So you may feel more safe, but statistically you are much less safe.

More importantly: Due to Stand Your Ground laws, more people are dying than would otherwise die. We know this with almost total certainty. So even if the Stand Your Ground law were providing your family some protection from a hypothetical home intrusion, I fail to see how this would justify the deaths of hundreds of non-hypothetical human beings. 

And most importantly: The laws we are discussing do not involve the so-called “castle doctrine.” In almost every state in the U.S., it’s legal to shoot someone who has broken into your home. (This may be a bad idea when it comes to minimizing your chance of dying, but it’s not a crime.) The Stand Your Ground laws being publicly debated in the U.S. right now apply to locations outside your home.

I was wondering how my name got on that list of poet tumblrs that is floating around… and then I noticed it’s on there twice.

1.I did not do that shit. 
2. I am astounded that there are apparently two people who think I belong on a list next to some of those ridiculously great poets. Or one person who forgot they’d already put me on there once.

Looking for more interesting poetry/spoken word/slam/poets to follow? Here is a (large) sampling of some of the folks we follow:

Andrea Gibson http://andrewgibby.tumblr.com/

Wonder Dave http://wonderdave.tumblr.com/

Sierra DeMulder http://sierrademulder.tumblr.com/

Will Evans http://williamevanswrites.tumblr.com/

Rachel Wiley http://sweetwhatsername.tumblr.com/

Lauren Zuniga http://laurenzuni.tumblr.com/

Mike McGee http://mikemcgee.tumblr.com

Michael Mlekoday http://michaelmlekoday.tumblr.com/

Suzi Q. Smith http://suziqsmith.tumblr.com/

Megan Falley http://meganfalley.tumblr.com/

Miles Walser http://mileswalser.tumblr.com/

Mahogany Browne http://blkgirlwrites.tumblr.com/

Rob Sturma http://ratpackslim.tumblr.com

Katelyn Lucas http://wordsfordays.tumblr.com/

 http://kmlucas.tumblr.com/ (it’s a photo blog of poets in action!)

Cristin O’Keefe Aptowicz http://coaptowicz.tumblr.com/

Doc Luben http://docluben.tumblr.com/

Rachel McKibbens http://rachelmckibbens.tumblr.com/

Joshua Merchant http://joshuamerchant.tumblr.com/

Shayne Avec I Grec http://shaynanigans.tumblr.com/

Victor Infante http://victorinfante.tumblr.com/

Toaster http://timtoasterhenderson.tumblr.com/

Michael Lee http://michaelleepoetry.tumblr.com/

Sarah Griff http://wordfury.tumblr.com/

Steph Holmbo http://smallsholmbo.tumblr.com/

Dylan Amelia Garcia http://arsenalhearted.tumblr.com/

Guante http://guante.tumblr.com/

Niccolea M Nance http://only1miouo.tumblr.com/

Faylita Hicks http://faylitahicks.tumblr.com/

Chris Gilpin http://chrisgilpin.tumblr.com

Amy Dentata http://amydentata.tumblr.com/

SeeMore Perspective http://seemoreperspective.tumblr.com/

Rodrigo Sanchez-Chavarria http://rscspokenword.tumblr.com/

Houston Hughes http://houstonrh7.tumblr.com/

Sam Sax http://samsax.tumblr.com/

Denise Jolly http://denisejollyspoken.tumblr.com/

Nic Alea http://nicalea.tumblr.com/

Omar Holman http://omarholmon.tumblr.com/

Shappy Seasholtz http://uncleshappy.tumblr.com/

Carrie Rudzinski http://carrierudzinski.tumblr.com/

Kait Rokowski http://kaitrokowski.tumblr.com/

Jesse Bradley http://iheartfailure.tumblr.com/

Dave Nichols http://mychinatown.tumblr.com/

Khary Jackson (aka 6 is 9) http://prettydeadhair.tumblr.com/

Nicole Homer http://nicolehomer.tumblr.com/

Inky http://colesarar.tumblr.com/

Zoelle Egner http://zoelle.tumblr.com/

Lewis Mundt http://beardpoetry.tumblr.com/

Hieu Minh Nguyen http://hieuminhbeing.tumblr.com/

Jessica Helen Lopez http://thewordisawoman.tumblr.com/

Chad Anderson http://chadpoet.tumblr.com/

Ashley Haze http://thelolahaze.tumblr.com/

Ellyn Touchette http://ellyntouchette.tumblr.com/

T. Miller http://tmillertakesatumbl.tumblr.com/

Cecily Schuler http://doctorsweetums.tumblr.com/

Kevin Kaoz http://kaozmpls.tumblr.com/

Amanda Oaks http://amanda-oaks.tumblr.com/

Jeremy Radin http://bigradinmonster.tumblr.com/

Jaz Sufi http://calamityjaz.tumblr.com/

Lisa Evans http://blackgirlawkward.tumblr.com/

Amy Beth http://depressidentoftheunitedstates.tumblr.com/

Tova Charles http://blkgirlwriteandsing.tumblr.com/

Jason Bayani http://jaybay3000.tumblr.com/

Airea Dee Matthews http://aireaonce.tumblr.com/

Chris Leja http://chrisleja.tumblr.com/

Shira Erlichman http://shirae.com/

Jay Bradley http://iheartfailure.tumblr.com/

Victor Infante http://victorinfante.tumblr.com/

Houston Hughes http://houstonrh7.tumblr.com/

James Merenda http://jamesmerenda.tumblr.com/

Neil Hilborn http://neilhilborn.tumblr.com/

Melissa May-Dunn http://melissamaynase.tumblr.com/

Here are a couple of Spoken Word/ Poetry Organizations Tumblr accounts:

National Poetry Slam 2014 http://npsoak.tumblr.com/

Boston Poetry Slam http://bostonpoetryslam.tumblr.com/

Berkeley Poetry Slam http://berkeleypoetryslam.tumblr.com/

SlamMN http://slammn.org/

Button Poetry http://buttonpoetry.tumblr.com/

Cal Slam (University of Berkeley CA, College Slam) http://calslam.tumblr.com/

Loser Slam (New Jersey) http://loserslam.tumblr.com/

TWR http://tourettesregret.tumblr.com/

Out Spoken http://outspokenpresents.tumblr.com/

Beast Crawl (Oakland CA Literary fest!) http://beastcrawl.tumblr.com/

The Body Is not an Apology (self love org founded by Sonya Renee)http://thebodyisnotanapology.tumblr.com/

Macalester Poetry Slam http://macalesterslam.tumblr.com/

Bare hands Poetry Journal http://barehandspoetry.tumblr.com/

Moon Light Owl Collective http://moonlightowlcollective.tumblr.com/

 

If your un-vaccinated child passes along a life threatening disease to the children of any of the people I love, I will hunt you down and purposely infect you with whatever disease you aren’t vaccinated for, lock you in a fallout shelter with enough food and water to ensure you die of that disease rather than starvation, and set up a closed circuit television which shows a constant video of a syringe with the vaccine for your disease in it, a clock to ensure it’s not just a still image, and a counter indicating the number of people who have died of the disease your child passed along.